IMA Continuing Professional Development (CPD) scheme

The IMA is very happy to work in partnership with Staffordshire University enabling members to study the Certificate in Money Advice Practice (CertMAP). Once an IMA member has passed the CertMAP qualification they become an accredited member of the Institute and are entitled to use either the  MIMA (Cert) or AIMA (Cert) post-nominal letters.

To maintain their accredited status, members need to participate in the IMA CPD scheme. Through this they demonstrate their ability to develop and maintain their money advice expertise and uphold the high standards to which the IMA is committed.

The IMA CPD scheme requires accredited members to:

  • Undertake 16 CPD points worth of developmental activities each year*
  • Complete activities from at least 3 of the following categories:
    • Training
    • Meetings, forums
    • Qualifications
    • Reading/writing/research
  • Include at least one training or qualification activity
  • Submit a record of their activities to the IMA

More information about the IMA CPD scheme is available to IMA members in our member’s zone.